Quick Question

First post, and already a question! I’m probably missing something, but does this mean that somebody is willing to pay the 0.09 for each XCP?

That is an order to buy an arbitrarily large amount of XCP with BTC that the address is unlikely to have. Thus, "troll order".

Recent patches to the fee system have made such orders less likely to occur.

Ok, thanks. Are people able to place buys and sells without having the funds on hand?

I believe the XCP are escrow’d as soon as the order is placed but the BTC have no way to be escrowed.  That could be wrong, i’m still learning about xcp.

Ok, thanks. Doesn’t that kind of wreck the whole “trustless exchange” concept?

[quote author=CounterEvan link=topic=95.msg532#msg532 date=1392492605]
Ok, thanks. Doesn’t that kind of wreck the whole “trustless exchange” concept?
[/quote]

No. If the BTC isn’t sent within 10 blocks after the orders have been matched, the transaction is cancelled, and the XCP are re-credited to the address that put up the “XCP sell” order.

Ok, good. However, what’s to stop people from spamming buy orders without any funds and causing mass confusion/ XCP gridlock?

Perhaps a BTC payer should escrow a small amount of XCP if XCP purchase is above a minimal threshold say 10XCP.  So a trader can buy a small initial order of 10XCP without having to put any XCP in collateral, once that is successfully completed they have 10XCP and a successful trade, they can now pay the 1XCP escrow required for BTC purchases of XCP larger than 10XCP

Frankly it wouldn’t be bad if new users did a low risk transaction to get their feet wet, this would make that the natural on-ramp

[quote author=CounterEvan link=topic=95.msg534#msg534 date=1392493616]
Ok, good. However, what’s to stop people from spamming buy orders without any funds and causing mass confusion/ XCP gridlock?
[/quote]