Need A Plan Of Action

Hi all,

I’m brand new to counterparty, have been reading up, and would like to ask some help to get my bearings.

I’ve got a web advertising system. It accepts only Bitcoin, and pays commissions to publishers, also in BTC only. Advertisers need to preload their accounts so for at least a short period of time I am holding the user’s funds as either advertising credits ready to spend to pay for advertising or as commission payments ready to withdraw by publishers. Since the advertising credits were created with BTC their value as they are being spent are equal to BTC and the commission earnings are too but the accounting is all off blockchain and the transfers between the accounts is all done on my own server.

I noticed XBTC was in development but then seems to have stalled and I was wondering what it’s status is? Is it still running? Usable? etc.

If so, my next question is (if I am understanding XBTC correctly) how does XBTC accomplish its price discovery for exchanging XCP back into Bitcoin? If that price discovery is somewhat reliable (it doesn’t have to be perfect) I probably could do the same arrangement (i.e. accept XCP as payment and pay commissions in XCP) as I do now with Bitcoin. In addition, I am just now completing an exchange where users can offer their earnings for sale, for cash, directly to the advertising customers. If I started to accept XCP they also could be offered for sale, for cash to customers as well.

There might be some way I can issue these advertising credits as an asset but I don’t have my head wrapped around counterparty yet to see if I can or how to go about doing it.